TEFL Course Week 1: Role of the Teacher

My online TEFL course through International TEFL Academy started this week, and as nerdy as this sounds, I was really excited to start learning! Apart from a weekend training I took back in 2012 from the Minnesota Literacy Council, I’ve never had much formal training on how to be an effective teacher. The plus side is that I’ve been a “teacher” (volunteer and now paid) for the last 4 years, so I can connect my previous experiences and knowledge of teaching with what I’ll be learning in my TEFL course.

This week’s topic is the role of the teacher. The assigned reading was fairly short and included some videos and links to outside resources. Overall, I found the reading to be well put-together and useful!

The homework for the week includes a short quiz based on the reading, and a writing assignment explaining the roots of English and its importance in the world today. So far, I’m happy with how the course is starting out. The workload doesn’t seem too overbearing right now. The professor also gave us a chance to introduce ourselves and share our travel stories/aspirations in the online forum, which I think will help build a little community in our online class. He’s also been very responsive (responding to my email within a few hours) and welcoming. I’m excited to see what’s to come in the class!

Happy learning! 🙂

Leave a Reply

